Page LayoutProblem with BABEL

Information and discussion about page layout specific issues (e.g. header and footer lines, page formats, page numbers).
vortex3
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:53 am

Problem with BABEL

Post by vortex3 »

Hello,

I added this command to my LATEX document

usepackage[spanish,activeacute]{babel}

However, after this the page numbres (lowcase roman number) changed to upcase, and I can't change them. I already used the \pagenumbering{roman} command but it doesn't work. I don't know what else to do.

Anyone has any idea of the reason or solution of this problem?

Thank you very much

Recommended reading 2024:

LaTeXguide.org • LaTeX-Cookbook.net • TikZ.org
LaTeX Beginner's Guide LaTeX Cookbook LaTeX TikZ graphics TikZによるLaTeXグラフィックス
User avatar
gmedina
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:45 pm

Problem with BABEL

Post by gmedina »

Hi,

since lower case roman numerals are typographically incorrect in Spanish, the author of the spanish option for babel (Javier Bezos) disabled their use when loading babel with Spanish as the main language: see
http://www.tex-tipografia.com/spanish2.html (section Números romanos en versalitas (Roman numerals in smallcaps)).
However, you can recover the lower case roman numerals with the es-lcroman option:

Code: Select all

\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute,es-lcroman]{babel}

\begin{document}

\frontmatter

blah blah

\end{document}
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
vortex3
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Problem with BABEL

Post by vortex3 »

Thank you very much for your help. I chech the link and try that solution, however, It still doesn't work. I also try to write

\roman{page}

And I get the Upcase roman lettle.

Any suggestion?
User avatar
gmedina
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:45 pm

Problem with BABEL

Post by gmedina »

vortex3 wrote:...I chech the link and try that solution, however, It still doesn't work...
Well, the code I posted works OK (at least on my system). Try the following test code:

Code: Select all

\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute,es-lcroman]{babel}

\renewcommand{\thepage}{\roman{page}}

\begin{document}

some test text
\newpage
some test text

\end{document}
Do you get lower case roman numerals for the page numbering? If not, then please add

Code: Select all

\listfiles
just before

Code: Select all

\documentclass{book}
to the above code, compile the code and post (as an attachment) the .log file obtained. (Remark: the \listfiles command will only write in the .log file a list of the used packages and their versions, that will help us to detect where the problem is).
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
vortex3
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Problem with BABEL

Post by vortex3 »

Hello.

I try everything and it still doesn't work.

Here is the log file that you asked.

Thank you very much for your help.
Attachments
Libro R2.log
(20.07 KiB) Downloaded 332 times
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9201
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Problem with BABEL

Post by localghost »

Have you ever taken a look at this log file? It is full of error messages. Fix these errors first and then check whether the problem still occurs. The warnings concerning floats can be avoided by giving [!ht] to all floats as placement parameters.


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]

¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
vortex3
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Problem with BABEL

Post by vortex3 »

Thank you very much.

First of all, I unistalled the babel packet and than instaled again just in case. After that, I remove the babel packet from my project and fixed all the errors. But, when I add again the babel packet, 4 error messages appear (extrange message like: Missing \begin{document}, and I can't fix them). I add the new log file. Althoug the roman number now appear in lowcase, in the outfile (DVI) there is a first page with 3 lines tike this:


1
english
spanish

After this page there are the pages of my document.

Anybody have any idea?

Thank you very much.
Attachments
Libro R2.log
(14.27 KiB) Downloaded 312 times
User avatar
gmedina
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:45 pm

Problem with BABEL

Post by gmedina »

Hi,

please try compiling first the code that I posted before:

Code: Select all

\listfiles
\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute,es-lcroman]{babel}

\renewcommand{\thepage}{\roman{page}}

\begin{document}

some test text
\newpage
some test text

\end{document}
and report the outcome. In case of error messages, please report them and attach the corresponding .log file (it is necessary to check if with the just installed version of babel this minimal code compiles OK or not; then we can examine what the problem might be with your actual document).

In case my example code compiles OK but your actual document still doesn't, then please report this situation and then buid a minimal working example (instructions can be found following the link I just provided) showing the undesired behaviour and post it.
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
vortex3
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Problem with BABEL

Post by vortex3 »

Hello,

It doesn't compile. It have the same problem and error message that mine.

I attach the output file and the log file.

Thank you very much
Attachments
prueba.pdf
(7.87 KiB) Downloaded 365 times
prueba.log
(5.22 KiB) Downloaded 356 times
User avatar
gmedina
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:45 pm

Problem with BABEL

Post by gmedina »

To be honest, I am a little confused now. Let's try another approach. Please save the following simple test document as miprueba.tex or similar (preferably using a name that you haven't used for any other .tex file) and compile it in the usual way:

Code: Select all

\listfiles
\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute]{babel}
%\spanishlcroman

\renewcommand{\thepage}{\roman{page}}

\begin{document}

some test text
\newpage
some test text

\end{document}
There shouldn't be any problems. Inform us about the outcome; wheter the compilation went OK or if error messages appeared.

Now delete all the auxiliar files (myprueba.log, miprueba.aux), and activate the \spanishlcroman command by simply deleting the "%" symbol. Compile the document once more and let us know the result.
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
Post Reply