TeXShop ⇒ Glossaries
Glossaries
Hello. I would like to make a glossary in my TeXshop version. I've seen a post which teaches us how to create a makeglossary in TeXshop in an iMac
http://the-moni-blog.blogspot.com.br/20 ... n-mac.html
But I can't find my engines directory. Can anyone help me?
Thanks
http://the-moni-blog.blogspot.com.br/20 ... n-mac.html
But I can't find my engines directory. Can anyone help me?
Thanks
- Johannes_B
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 4182
- Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:08 pm
Glossaries
Hi and welcome,
personally, i would always refer to Glossaries, Nomenclature, Lists of Symbols and Acronyms, an article written by the author itself. The basics of compiling are still valid, but the possibilities have changed a bit. Nicola has done quite a lot of development.
As to where you find the binary files, please run on the command line:
personally, i would always refer to Glossaries, Nomenclature, Lists of Symbols and Acronyms, an article written by the author itself. The basics of compiling are still valid, but the possibilities have changed a bit. Nicola has done quite a lot of development.
As to where you find the binary files, please run on the command line:
Code: Select all
$ which makeglossaries
makeglossaries
is a perl script that eases the call to makeindex (or xindy).The smart way: Calm down and take a deep breath, read posts and provided links attentively, try to understand and ask if necessary.
Re: Glossaries
Thanks Johannes. I found my engines alright. I then created a file
#!/bin/sh
bfname=$(dirname "$1")/"`basename "$1" .tex`"
makeindex -s "$bfname".ist -t "$bfname".alg -o "$bfname".acr "$bfname".acn
makeindex -s "$bfname".ist -t "$bfname".glg -o "$bfname".gls "$bfname".glo
Then tried to make it executable, but it didn't work. Any ideas what dirname "$1" and `basename "$1" .tex` would be?
Thanks
#!/bin/sh
bfname=$(dirname "$1")/"`basename "$1" .tex`"
makeindex -s "$bfname".ist -t "$bfname".alg -o "$bfname".acr "$bfname".acn
makeindex -s "$bfname".ist -t "$bfname".glg -o "$bfname".gls "$bfname".glo
Then tried to make it executable, but it didn't work. Any ideas what dirname "$1" and `basename "$1" .tex` would be?
Thanks
- Johannes_B
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 4182
- Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:08 pm
Glossaries
Dirname seems to be the name of your current directory, basename is the basename of your current tex file. Why are worrying yourself with that stuff?
Run
Run
makeglossaries basename
and everything will be fine. Remember, the basename is the name of your texfile, without the ending.The smart way: Calm down and take a deep breath, read posts and provided links attentively, try to understand and ask if necessary.
Re: Glossaries
Johanes, thank you for your answer. I'm trying to get a the makeglossaries appear on my drop down menu. Still haven't managed.
Re: Glossaries
I'm a beginner in this issue (!) and am having difficulties in following the recipes. I figured out I have to run make glossaries, but I haven't understood how or when. Should I run it through the terminal using my main file? What should I do after this?
Glossaries
I have two files: a main file (
When I ran:
I got the following answer:
Include_Tese
) where I include my glossary file (Glossario
) and a glossary file.When I ran:
makeglossaries My_Main_File
I got the following answer:
Code: Select all
makeglossaries version 2.14 (2014-03-06)
added glossary type 'main' (glg,gls,glo)
Warning: File 'Include_Tese.glo' is empty.
Have you used any entries defined in glossary 'main'?
Remember to use package option 'nomain' if you
don't want to use the main glossary.
Last edited by Stefan Kottwitz on Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Johannes_B
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 4182
- Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:08 pm
Glossaries
Without any code, its hard to suggest anything. Please add a minimal working example.
At the first LaTeX run, helper files are created. The external tool
So, you have to run the helper script/programm/app in between your LaTeX runs.
To the actual problem: please have a look at the message, it gives you some clues.
At the first LaTeX run, helper files are created. The external tool
makeglossaries
, which is applpied on the basename of the mainfile (without file extension) sorts out the glossary stuff and write other files. With the next run of LaTeX, those files are read and the final glossary is printed. So, you have to run the helper script/programm/app in between your LaTeX runs.
To the actual problem: please have a look at the message, it gives you some clues.
The smart way: Calm down and take a deep breath, read posts and provided links attentively, try to understand and ask if necessary.
Glossaries
Thanks again. Thanks for your patience.
My minimum code is as follows:
My Glossario File is:
\newglossaryentry{chama}
{
name= {chama},
description={uma rea\c{c}\~ao autosustentada}
}
\newglossaryentry{(LTE)}
{
name = {equilibrio}
description={localmente}
}
When I run latex followed by makeglossaries followed by latex and latex again, I get a compiled document without a glossary
My minimum code is as follows:
Code: Select all
\documentclass[11pt, a4paper]{report}
\usepackage{makeidx}
\usepackage{hyperref}
\usepackage{natbib}
\makeindex
\usepackage[toc]{glossaries}
\input{Capitulos/Glossario}
\makeglossaries
\begin{document}
\printglossary
\end{document}
\newglossaryentry{chama}
{
name= {chama},
description={uma rea\c{c}\~ao autosustentada}
}
\newglossaryentry{(LTE)}
{
name = {equilibrio}
description={localmente}
}
When I run latex followed by makeglossaries followed by latex and latex again, I get a compiled document without a glossary
Last edited by Stefan Kottwitz on Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Glossaries
Also, I run latex from the drop down menu in my Texshop window, and I run makeglossaries MyFile (without extension) from the terminal (and I get:
bruno$ makeglossaries Include_Tese
makeglossaries version 2.14 (2014-03-06)
added glossary type 'main' (glg,gls,glo)
Warning: File 'Include_Tese.glo' is empty.
Have you used any entries defined in glossary 'main'?
Remember to use package option 'nomain' if you
don't want to use the main glossary.
bruno$ makeglossaries Include_Tese
makeglossaries version 2.14 (2014-03-06)
added glossary type 'main' (glg,gls,glo)
Warning: File 'Include_Tese.glo' is empty.
Have you used any entries defined in glossary 'main'?
Remember to use package option 'nomain' if you
don't want to use the main glossary.