The workaround by WinEDT 5.5 beta4 sends a menuID command to Acrobat telling it to close. You can see this in the macro: C:\Program Files\WinEdt Team\WinEdt\Exec\Acrobat CloseDoc.edt line 38. Here the variable $('Acro-CloseMenuItem'); is set in Winedt from the menu bar:
Options->Execution Modes->Acrobat : "Close Document Menu ID".
The problem I had is that the "Auto-detect" feature (meant to automatically find the menuID for "quit") found the menuID for "Combine Files" instead. The correct menuID for "quit" is 6000.
It took me hours to figure out why every time I tried to compile a Latex document the "Combine Files" dialog popped up in Acrobat. I hope this helps someone.
Viewers for PDF, PS, and DVI ⇒ Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
OK, this thread has really helped me with creating PDFs. Thank you!
But. -There has to be a but, eh?
As soon as I change the LaTeX -> PDF profile, the settings for the DVI and PS profiles are changed as well. All options in the Viewer tab are removed!
I've tried to run the Wizard, but it creates profiles with command line arguments, and that does not work. So what are the default DDE command settings for the DVI and PS templates, in the Viewer tab?
Thanks,
Erik
But. -There has to be a but, eh?
As soon as I change the LaTeX -> PDF profile, the settings for the DVI and PS profiles are changed as well. All options in the Viewer tab are removed!
I've tried to run the Wizard, but it creates profiles with command line arguments, and that does not work. So what are the default DDE command settings for the DVI and PS templates, in the Viewer tab?
Thanks,
Erik
Last edited by erik on Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:55 am
Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Thank you for this hint.
But there is another hint for you: Because of a little mistake I added the second doc-open-command only in the search-line command in TeXnicCenter 7.01. The Adobe Reader 8 with the open PDF-file does not break down when compiling the TEX-document in the TEX->PDF-profile, it closes the document correctly.
Bye
MZimmer275
But there is another hint for you: Because of a little mistake I added the second doc-open-command only in the search-line command in TeXnicCenter 7.01. The Adobe Reader 8 with the open PDF-file does not break down when compiling the TEX-document in the TEX->PDF-profile, it closes the document correctly.
Bye
MZimmer275
Last edited by MZimmer275 on Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:35 pm
Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Hi,
(1) Firstly, to "dustinbear" and others: Yes, Reader may display text pixelated, due to the standard setting of around 100 dpi resolution.
Go Edit>Preferences>Page Display
and change the resolution to as high as you need, say 900 dpi. Also go "Rendering>Smooth Text" and pick "for Laptop/LCD Screen" (even if you haven't).
(2) Why even have the FileOpen commands? According to Adobe's own manual (see below), these are bad, because they _prevent_ other DDE commands from acting on that file. (And it works just the same without, as far as I can see.)
(3) I have yet another problem. In the Wikipedia discussion http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:TeXnicCenter, it is suggested by some "Stefan" to add to TeXnicCenter the command
[DocSetViewMode("%bm.pdf","PDUseNone")]
to avoid seeing the menu produced by hyperref. It produces the error "Cannot execute the command." in TeXnicCenter.
(4) Along the same lines, one should be able to use DDE for zooming, i.e.
[DocZoomTo("%bm.pdf","AVZoomFitPage",150)]
which again produces the same error "Cannot execute the command.".
I should say that these problems are also present in Adobe (Acrobat) Reader 7.0, and that it should work according to the manual from Adobe:
http://ftp.ktug.or.kr/obsolete/info/ado ... iacref.PDF
Phew, long post
(1) Firstly, to "dustinbear" and others: Yes, Reader may display text pixelated, due to the standard setting of around 100 dpi resolution.
Go Edit>Preferences>Page Display
and change the resolution to as high as you need, say 900 dpi. Also go "Rendering>Smooth Text" and pick "for Laptop/LCD Screen" (even if you haven't).
(2) Why even have the FileOpen commands? According to Adobe's own manual (see below), these are bad, because they _prevent_ other DDE commands from acting on that file. (And it works just the same without, as far as I can see.)
(3) I have yet another problem. In the Wikipedia discussion http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:TeXnicCenter, it is suggested by some "Stefan" to add to TeXnicCenter the command
[DocSetViewMode("%bm.pdf","PDUseNone")]
to avoid seeing the menu produced by hyperref. It produces the error "Cannot execute the command." in TeXnicCenter.
(4) Along the same lines, one should be able to use DDE for zooming, i.e.
[DocZoomTo("%bm.pdf","AVZoomFitPage",150)]
which again produces the same error "Cannot execute the command.".
I should say that these problems are also present in Adobe (Acrobat) Reader 7.0, and that it should work according to the manual from Adobe:
http://ftp.ktug.or.kr/obsolete/info/ado ... iacref.PDF
Phew, long post

Last edited by TeX.it.Out on Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:35 pm
Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Hmm...seems some answer to the previous post was also on Wiki, quoting from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TeXnicCenter
"Note that Adobe Reader supports only the following DDE messages: AppExit, CloseAllDocs, DocClose, DocGoTo, DocGoToNameDest, DocOpen, FileOpen, FilePrint, FilePrintEx, FilePrintSilent, and FilePrintTo. In order to support the MenuitemExecute functionality, a full version of Adobe Acrobat is required."
Bad trip
I suppose that modifying one of the available OLE scripts is the way to do it then. Seems like DDE isn't the preferred standard anyways.
Here's a script in Perl: http://www.dererumnatura.us/archives/20 ... er_an.html
And in C: http://magic.aladdin.cs.cmu.edu/2005/07 ... -pdfclose/
At least these examples give a hint of how to go about.
/Cheers
"Note that Adobe Reader supports only the following DDE messages: AppExit, CloseAllDocs, DocClose, DocGoTo, DocGoToNameDest, DocOpen, FileOpen, FilePrint, FilePrintEx, FilePrintSilent, and FilePrintTo. In order to support the MenuitemExecute functionality, a full version of Adobe Acrobat is required."
Bad trip

I suppose that modifying one of the available OLE scripts is the way to do it then. Seems like DDE isn't the preferred standard anyways.
Here's a script in Perl: http://www.dererumnatura.us/archives/20 ... er_an.html
And in C: http://magic.aladdin.cs.cmu.edu/2005/07 ... -pdfclose/
At least these examples give a hint of how to go about.
/Cheers
Last edited by TeX.it.Out on Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:35 pm
Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Yet another post on this annoying problem...
Was a bit misleading...the C program above is also DDE, only the Perl script is OLE.
/Bye
Was a bit misleading...the C program above is also DDE, only the Perl script is OLE.
/Bye
Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
i know this is the texnicCenter forum, but i thought since you all found a solution to the whole reloading pdf issue, anyone know if i can do something similar in texmaker? i am not sure what the dde commands are, but i dont think it has them. tips? hints?
oh and i forgot to mention that GSview does this well, just that it isnt anywhere near as nice as other pdf viewers, such as foxit or sumatra
oh and i forgot to mention that GSview does this well, just that it isnt anywhere near as nice as other pdf viewers, such as foxit or sumatra
Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Yes, this worked for me too, with TeXNicCenter+MikTex:
View: [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Search: [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Close: [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][DocClose("%bm.pdf")]
Note that every profile that eventually calls Acrobat Reader 8.0 should be modified as above.
LaTeX=>PDF, LaTeX=>PS=>PDF, and so on.
Thanks to all for your help.
View: [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Search: [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Close: [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][DocClose("%bm.pdf")]
Note that every profile that eventually calls Acrobat Reader 8.0 should be modified as above.
LaTeX=>PDF, LaTeX=>PS=>PDF, and so on.
Thanks to all for your help.
Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
This really seems like a bulky fix to a simple problem, has anyone tried sumatra? it is a very slim and fast pdf viewer. it also does not lock the file being viewed which allows one to keep it open while working. then all one needs to do to update the pdf is press the "r" key. i would really like to see this program working with texniccenter over adobes slow and bulky reader. any thoughts? oh and you also dont need to install it, it just is an executable
Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0
Wow, that sumatra works nicely! Too bad about the hyperlinks not working though. But at least if you are working on a specific part of a document, for example, when changing the size of a figure to see the effects on the layout, you do not need to look for the page each time. You just need to press 'r' to refresh the page and see the effect (much like in GhostScript).
I have only tested it very briefly, but I would recommend it to anyone that is irritated by having to look for a page after every compilation.
And no crashing! Well, yet anyway...
I have only tested it very briefly, but I would recommend it to anyone that is irritated by having to look for a page after every compilation.
And no crashing! Well, yet anyway...