Hi
How can we use the latest rupee symbol in LaTeX. It will be very useful as everyone is trying to use it which is evident at http://www.blog.foradian.com .
If the instruction is provided we can post it over there so that everyone can start using it.
Fonts & Character Sets ⇒ Using Rupee Font In Latex
Using Rupee Font In Latex
Using it with regular LaTeX would require converting it to a Type1 font and doing some other alterations, but you could use it with XeLaTeX as is, like so:
Don't get used to this procedure, however, as it won't last. Unicode may or may not approve the new symbol, but in the meantime, the symbol should have been placed in the private use area of the unicode blocks, not made to be a replacement for the backtick ` -- that's very bad form, and whoever made that font really should have known better than to use such a hack.
Code: Select all
Code, edit and compile here:
\documentclass{article}\usepackage{fontspec}\setmainfont{Rupee Foradian}\newcommand{\rupee}{\textasciigrave}\begin{document}\rupee\end{document}
- localghost
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 9201
- Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Using Rupee Font In Latex
According to some blog entries it will take some time until the symbol will show up on computers [1,2]. But with a little luck TeX users will enjoy that earlier. It could be similar to our European currency symbol for the Euro (€).
Until somebody comes up with an appropriate package like eurosym, you could use a workaround in form of the symbol as small graphic. A cropped EPS file that I got from the website you mentioned together with a converted PDF is attached.
[1] Slashdot Your Rights Online: India's New Rupee Symbol Won't Show On Computers
[2] India's new Rupee symbol won't show soon on computers | ITworld
Until somebody comes up with an appropriate package like eurosym, you could use a workaround in form of the symbol as small graphic. A cropped EPS file that I got from the website you mentioned together with a converted PDF is attached.
[1] Slashdot Your Rights Online: India's New Rupee Symbol Won't Show On Computers
[2] India's new Rupee symbol won't show soon on computers | ITworld
- Attachments
-
- rupee.zip
- The new Indian Rupee symbol in EPS and PDF format.
- (5.71 KiB) Downloaded 577 times
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]
¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]
¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
Re: Using Rupee Font In Latex
Hi
How can we initiate the process of creating a package for rupee symbol in Latex like how eurosym is implemented so that everyone can start using the symbol right away.
How can we initiate the process of creating a package for rupee symbol in Latex like how eurosym is implemented so that everyone can start using the symbol right away.
- localghost
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 9201
- Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Using Rupee Font In Latex
As I read today on the CTAN Announcement List, the new version 4.8.4 of the libertine font package contains the new Rupee symbol. So the assumptions about its availability in the blogs I linked in my last reply have been confirmed. Perhaps other font or symbol packages will follow in the near future.
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]
¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]
¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
- localghost
- Site Moderator
- Posts: 9201
- Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Using Rupee Font In Latex
Today the new tfrupee font package has been uploaded to CTAN. It provides support for the new (Indian) Rupee symbol.
There is a small typo in the package code so that it identifies itself as »tfupee«. This will cause a warning but should not affect its functionality in general.
There is a small typo in the package code so that it identifies itself as »tfupee«. This will cause a warning but should not affect its functionality in general.
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]
¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]
¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
Using Rupee Font In Latex
Hi,
After installing the tfrupee package, I used \rupee to get the symbol, however the output shows '--' instead of the symbol.
I checked the document properties of the dvi file, it showed
tfrupee >>>Not loadable-double click to see details, I dbl click and a dialog box poped up with the msg, Attempted an unsupported operation.
My code is
I also tried Refresh FNDB, and Update Formats from miktex settings, however still the same issue
Please assist,
Regards,
metric
After installing the tfrupee package, I used \rupee to get the symbol, however the output shows '--' instead of the symbol.
I checked the document properties of the dvi file, it showed
tfrupee >>>Not loadable-double click to see details, I dbl click and a dialog box poped up with the msg, Attempted an unsupported operation.
My code is
Code: Select all
Code, edit and compile here:
\documentclass{article}\usepackage{tfrupee}\begin{document}the new rupee symbol \rupee\end{document}
Please assist,
Regards,
metric
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 7:28 am
Using Rupee Font In Latex
Are you on a Linux distribution? If yes, see this page for full details. Here are the key steps.
With pdflatex, or latex/dvips, you shouldn't see any messages from tex about inability to create bitmap fonts for tfrupee.
- Download the tfrupee package available at CTAN. It's a 1.5MB zip file named tfrupee.zip.
- Run the following to install tfrupee.
Code: Select all
unzip tfrupee.zipcd tfrupee/sudo cp -rv fonts/type1/tfrupee/ /usr/share/texmf/fonts/type1/sudo cp -rv fonts/afm/tfrupee/ /usr/share/texmf/fonts/afm/sudo cp -rv fonts/tfm/tfrupee/ /usr/share/texmf/fonts/tfm/sudo cp -rv fonts/map/dvips/tfrupee/ /usr/share/texmf/fonts/map/dvips/sudo cp -rv fonts/source/tfrupee/ /usr/share/texmf/fonts/source/sudo cp -rv tex/latex/tfrupee/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/latex/sudo texhashsudo updmap-sys --enable Map=tfrupee.map - Test it with this simple tex file.
Code: Select all
Code, edit and compile here:\documentclass[12pt]{article}\usepackage{tfrupee}\begin{document}\rupee~7,000\end{document}
With pdflatex, or latex/dvips, you shouldn't see any messages from tex about inability to create bitmap fonts for tfrupee.