Information and discussion about LaTeX's general text formatting features (e.g. bold, italic, enumerations, ...)
oribuz
Posts: 2 Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:14 pm
Post
by oribuz » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:20 pm
Hi, everybody,
i'm new to the forum and i've met a lot of problem using latex. i have ubuntu 8.10 and i'm trying to write a text but there are always some problems
this is what appears on my terminal when i try to transform the file tex in pdf:
Code: Select all
This is pdfTeXk, Version 3.141592-1.40.3 (Web2C 7.5.6)
%&-line parsing enabled.
entering extended mode
(./Tradotto.tex
LaTeX2e <2005/12/01>
Babel <v3.8h> and hyphenation patterns for english, usenglishmax, dumylang, noh
yphenation, loaded.
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/base/article.cls
Document Class: article 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX document class
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/base/size10.clo))
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/generic/babel/babel.sty
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/generic/babel/italian.ldf
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/generic/babel/babel.def)
Package babel Warning: No hyphenation patterns were loaded for
(babel) the language `Italian'
(babel) I will use the patterns loaded for \language=0 instead.
)) (/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/base/inputenc.sty
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/ucs/utf8x.def))
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/ucs/ucs.sty
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/ucs/data/uni-global.def))
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/float/float.sty)
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/graphics/graphicx.sty
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/graphics/keyval.sty)
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/graphics/graphics.sty
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/graphics/trig.sty)
(/etc/texmf/tex/latex/config/graphics.cfg)
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/pdftex-def/pdftex.def)))
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/generic/oberdiek/ifpdf.sty) (./Tradotto.aux)
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/generic/babel/lgrcmr.fd)
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/ucs/ucsencs.def
fontencoding LGR patched
) (/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/context/base/supp-pdf.tex
[Loading MPS to PDF converter (version 2006.09.02).]
) [1{/var/lib/texmf/fonts/map/pdftex/updmap/pdftex.map}] [2]
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/ucs/data/uni-0.def)
(/usr/share/texmf-texlive/tex/latex/ucs/data/uni-32.def) [3] [4]
! Missing } inserted.
<inserted text>
}
l.76 \end{enumerate}
Someone can help me to find a way to resolve the problems?
Please this text is important for me
Tranks all
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9201 Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Post
by localghost » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:48 pm
The error message alone is almost useless without the corresponding source code. I can only see that you have forgotten a closing brace for an
enumerate environment.
Code: Select all
! Missing } inserted.
<inserted text>
}
l.76 \end{enumerate}
Check the given line and correct it. If that doesn't help, reduce the code to a
minimal working example (MWE) that reproduces exactly this error message (except the line number).
Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
phi
Posts: 577 Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:10 pm
Post
by phi » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:41 pm
Additionally, the messages suggest that the Italian language package (texlive-lang-italian) is missing.
oribuz
Posts: 2 Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:14 pm
Post
by oribuz » Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:03 pm
the principal setting is this:
Code: Select all
\documentclass{article}
\usepackage[italian]{babel}
\usepackage[utf8x]{inputenc}
\usepackage{float}
\usepackage{graphicx}
\usepackage{ifpdf}
\floatstyle{plain}
\newfloat{figura}{htp}{lop}
\floatname{figura}{Figura}
\newfloat{tabella}{htp}{lop}
\floatname{tabella}{Tabella}
\ifpdf
\DeclareGraphicsRule{*}{mps}{*}{}
\fi
And the graphes and tables settings are these:
Code: Select all
\begin{tabella}
\centering
\begin{tabular}{|l|l|l|}
\hline
& \textbf{Inter-Country} & \textbf{Intra-Country} \\
& \textbf{Dispersion(\%)} & \textbf{Dispersion(\%)} \\
\hline
\textbf{Supermarket products} & & \\
& & \\
Evian mineral water & 43 & 4 \\
Rexona deodorant & 21 & 2 \\
Sensodyne toothpaste & 21 & 2 \\
Mars chocolate bar (single) & 21 & 2 \\
Coca Cola & 21 & 4 \\
Pedigree Pal Dog food & 10 & 2 \\
Colgate toothpaste & 14 & 4 \\
Bonne Maman jam & 19 & 6 \\
\hline
\textbf{Electronic products} & & \\
& & \\
Philips Audio system & 28 & 20 \\
Sony Audio system & 38 & 25 \\
Canon Video camera & 32 & 6 \\
Philips Tv (14 inches) & 41 & 22 \\
Sony Tv (14 inches) & 39 & 19 \\
Panasonic Tv (28 inches) & 25 & 24 \\
Philips Tv (28 inches) & 61 & 49 \\
\hline
\end{tabular}
\caption{Price Dispersion in Europe}
\label{fig. 1: Source: European Commission}
\end{tabella}
\begin{tabella}
\centering
\begin{tabular}{|l|r|r|r|r|r|}
\hline
& \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Totale}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Totale}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Totale}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Valore}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Totale}} \\
& \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Output}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Output}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Output}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Lordo ai}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Input}} \\
& \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Raccolto}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Animali}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Agricolo}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Prezzi Base}} & \multicolumn{1}{l|}{\textbf{Lavoro}} \\
\hline
\textbf{EU27} & 187 280 & 140 218 & 351 520 & 151 126 & 85 218 \\
\hline
\textbf{EU15} & 156 583 & 118 612 & 295 358 & 129 116 & 70 862 \\
\hline
\textbf{France} & 37 336 & 23 077 & 65 292 & 28 012 & 14 223 \\
\hline
\textbf{Germany} & 22 497 & 20 565 & 44 901 & 14 512 & 6 702 \\
\hline
\textbf{Italy} & 25 939 & 13 999 & 43 807 & 24 561 & 7 988 \\
\hline
\textbf{Great} & 8 491 & 12 242 & 22 878 & 8 208 & 4 756 \\
\textbf{Britain} & & & & & \\
\hline
\end{tabular}
\caption{Comparison of agriculture in EU Members States for 2007 (€ million)}
\label{Source: Eurostat ©Crown copyright, 2008}
\end{tabella}
Sorry, i don't know how to start, for example the text is all in english and only some footnotes are in italian, have i change language setting?
-let me know if you can tell some others advices
Thank you very much
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9201 Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Post
by localghost » Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:55 pm
I think you didn't read my last reply. The code you now posted is not the code that produces the error message you gave in your initial post. Please prepare the MWE as requested. Otherwise this topic will come to nothing. When posting longer pieces of code, please use the "Code" environment by clicking the according button right above the input window.
Furthermore I wonder why you declare these extra float environments figura and tabella . Are they just to have such environments in your language? LaTeX provides already the figure and table environments which should be sufficient.