Text FormattingMakefile with TeXnicCenter on Windows?

Information and discussion about LaTeX's general text formatting features (e.g. bold, italic, enumerations, ...)
Post Reply
smith
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:59 pm

Makefile with TeXnicCenter on Windows?

Post by smith »

Hi, is there a way to use a makefile to compile on TeXnicCenter on Windows XP?

Recommended reading 2024:

LaTeXguide.org • LaTeX-Cookbook.net • TikZ.org
LaTeX Beginner's Guide LaTeX Cookbook LaTeX TikZ graphics TikZによるLaTeXグラフィックス
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9201
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Re: Makefile with TeXnicCenter on Windows?

Post by localghost »

Makefiles are usually for creating output from the command prompt in a single process. If you describe what you want to do there may the possibility to integrate all steps into a special profile.


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]

¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
smith
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:59 pm

Makefile with TeXnicCenter on Windows?

Post by smith »

Thanks for the reply.
How do I put the following commands into the profile? Or rather, where to!
(sorry, I'm new to this)

Code: Select all

	latex file.tex
	dvips -o file.ps file.dvi
	ps2pdf "-sPAPERSIZE=a4" file.ps
	rm -f *~ *.aux *.dvi *.log *.ps
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9201
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Re: Makefile with TeXnicCenter on Windows?

Post by localghost »

The first three lines are in principle part of the "LaTeX => PS => PDF" build profile. The last line consists of a Linux command. You only have to adapt it to DOS commands and add it in the post processing of the build profile.
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes[/size]

¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1
pwhitey86
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 4:43 pm

Makefile with TeXnicCenter on Windows?

Post by pwhitey86 »

Is there a way to run a dos command before the latex commands? As in:

Code: Select all

copy "C:\Documents and Settings\me\My Documents\master_copy\refs_master.bib" "refs_master.bib"
latex file.tex
dvips -o file.ps file.dvi
ps2pdf "-sPAPERSIZE=a4" file.ps
Post Reply