Feature SuggestionsJump to line with error

Suggestions and discussions for new TeXnicCenter features
dba
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:27 pm

Re: Jump to line with error

Post by dba »

It doesn't matter whether I'm creating a .pdf or just doing build without producing output -- sometimes it automatically jumps to the error line and sometimes it doesn't. It still seems like there must be a toggle somewhere that I can use to reset the system to jump to the error line!

Recommended reading 2024:

LaTeXguide.org • LaTeX-Cookbook.net • TikZ.org
LaTeX Beginner's Guide LaTeX Cookbook LaTeX TikZ graphics TikZによるLaTeXグラフィックス
Hedron
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:52 pm

Jump to line with error

Post by Hedron »

Here is a minimal example:

\documentclass[11pt, twoside, a4paper]{article}
\begin{document}
This is a \emp h{TEST}.
\end{document}

output:

Code: Select all

This is pdfTeX, Version 3.1415926-1.40.9 (MiKTeX 2.7) (preloaded format=pdflatex 2008.10.28)  28 OCT 2008 15:10
entering extended mode
**E:/tex/minimal.tex
(E:/tex/minimal.tex
LaTeX2e <2005/12/01>
Babel <v3.8l> and hyphenation patterns for english, dumylang, nohyphenation, german, ngerman, german-x-2008-06-18, ngerm
an-x-2008-06-18, french, loaded.
("D:\Programme\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\base\article.cls"
Document Class: article 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX document class
("D:\Programme\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\base\size11.clo"
File: size11.clo 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX file (size option)
)
\c@part=\count79
\c@section=\count80
\c@subsection=\count81
\c@subsubsection=\count82
\c@paragraph=\count83
\c@subparagraph=\count84
\c@figure=\count85
\c@table=\count86
\abovecaptionskip=\skip41
\belowcaptionskip=\skip42
\bibindent=\dimen102
)
No file minimal.aux.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OML/cmm/m/it on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for T1/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OT1/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OMS/cmsy/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OMX/cmex/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for U/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
! Undefined control sequence.
l.3 This is a \emp
                   h{TEST}.
The control sequence at the end of the top line
of your error message was never \def'ed. If you have
misspelled it (e.g., `\hobx'), type `I' and the correct
spelling (e.g., `I\hbox'). Otherwise just continue,
and I'll forget about whatever was undefined.

[1

{C:/Dokumente und Einstellungen/All Users/Anwendungsdaten/MiKTeX/2.7/pdftex/config/pdftex.map}] (minimal.aux) ) 
Here is how much of TeX's memory you used:
 202 strings out of 95304
 2017 string characters out of 1183179
 46328 words of memory out of 1500000
 3489 multiletter control sequences out of 110000
 3940 words of font info for 15 fonts, out of 1200000 for 2000
 14 hyphenation exceptions out of 8191
 21i,4n,19p,147b,111s stack positions out of 5000i,500n,10000p,200000b,5000s
<D:/Progr
amme/MiKTeX 2.7/fonts/type1/bluesky/cm/cmr10.pfb>
Output written on minimal.pdf (1 page, 5623 bytes).
PDF statistics:
 10 PDF objects out of 1000 (max. 8388607)
 0 named destinations out of 1000 (max. 131072)
 1 words of extra memory for PDF output out of 10000 (max. 10000000)

No problem here. TexnicCentere finds the error message and jumps to the correct line in the source code.
But if i move the file to another subdirectory "long sub directory", it does not jump to the line in the source code if compiling directly to pdf:

Code: Select all

This is pdfTeX, Version 3.1415926-1.40.9 (MiKTeX 2.7) (preloaded format=pdflatex 2008.10.28)  28 OCT 2008 15:11
entering extended mode
**E:/tex/long*sub*directory/minimal.tex
("E:/tex/long sub directory/minimal.tex"
LaTeX2e <2005/12/01>
Babel <v3.8l> and hyphenation patterns for english, dumylang, nohyphenation, german, ngerman, german-x-2008-06-18, ngerm
an-x-2008-06-18, french, loaded.
("D:\Programme\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\base\article.cls"
Document Class: article 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX document class
("D:\Programme\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\base\size11.clo"
File: size11.clo 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX file (size option)
)
\c@part=\count79
\c@section=\count80
\c@subsection=\count81
\c@subsubsection=\count82
\c@paragraph=\count83
\c@subparagraph=\count84
\c@figure=\count85
\c@table=\count86
\abovecaptionskip=\skip41
\belowcaptionskip=\skip42
\bibindent=\dimen102
)
No file minimal.aux.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OML/cmm/m/it on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for T1/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OT1/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OMS/cmsy/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OMX/cmex/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for U/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
! Undefined control sequence.
l.3 This is a \emp
                   h{TEST}.
The control sequence at the end of the top line
of your error message was never \def'ed. If you have
misspelled it (e.g., `\hobx'), type `I' and the correct
spelling (e.g., `I\hbox'). Otherwise just continue,
and I'll forget about whatever was undefined.

[1

{C:/Dokumente und Einstellungen/All Users/Anwendungsdaten/MiKTeX/2.7/pdftex/config/pdftex.map}] (minimal.aux) ) 
Here is how much of TeX's memory you used:
 202 strings out of 95304
 2074 string characters out of 1183179
 46328 words of memory out of 1500000
 3489 multiletter control sequences out of 110000
 3940 words of font info for 15 fonts, out of 1200000 for 2000
 14 hyphenation exceptions out of 8191
 21i,4n,19p,166b,111s stack positions out of 5000i,500n,10000p,200000b,5000s
<D:/Progr
amme/MiKTeX 2.7/fonts/type1/bluesky/cm/cmr10.pfb>
Output written on minimal.pdf (1 page, 5623 bytes).
PDF statistics:
 10 PDF objects out of 1000 (max. 8388607)
 0 named destinations out of 1000 (max. 131072)
 1 words of extra memory for PDF output out of 10000 (max. 10000000)

but if compiling to dvi everything works fine!

Code: Select all

This is pdfTeX, Version 3.1415926-1.40.9 (MiKTeX 2.7) (preloaded format=latex 2008.10.28)  28 OCT 2008 15:15
entering extended mode
**minimal.tex
(minimal.tex
LaTeX2e <2005/12/01>
Babel <v3.8l> and hyphenation patterns for english, dumylang, nohyphenation, german, ngerman, german-x-2008-06-18, ngerm
an-x-2008-06-18, french, loaded.
("D:\Programme\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\base\article.cls"
Document Class: article 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX document class
("D:\Programme\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\base\size11.clo"
File: size11.clo 2005/09/16 v1.4f Standard LaTeX file (size option)
)
\c@part=\count79
\c@section=\count80
\c@subsection=\count81
\c@subsubsection=\count82
\c@paragraph=\count83
\c@subparagraph=\count84
\c@figure=\count85
\c@table=\count86
\abovecaptionskip=\skip41
\belowcaptionskip=\skip42
\bibindent=\dimen102
) (minimal.aux)
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OML/cmm/m/it on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for T1/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OT1/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OMS/cmsy/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for OMX/cmex/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    Checking defaults for U/cmr/m/n on input line 2.
LaTeX Font Info:    ... okay on input line 2.

! Undefined control sequence.
l.3 This is a \emp
                   h{TEST}.
The control sequence at the end of the top line
of your error message was never \def'ed. If you have
misspelled it (e.g., `\hobx'), type `I' and the correct
spelling (e.g., `I\hbox'). Otherwise just continue,
and I'll forget about whatever was undefined.

[1

] (minimal.aux) ) 
Here is how much of TeX's memory you used:
 202 strings out of 95305
 2008 string characters out of 1183206
 46328 words of memory out of 1500000
 3489 multiletter control sequences out of 110000
 3940 words of font info for 15 fonts, out of 1200000 for 2000
 14 hyphenation exceptions out of 8191
 21i,4n,19p,140b,111s stack positions out of 5000i,500n,10000p,200000b,5000s

Output written on minimal.dvi (1 page, 252 bytes).
The only obvious difference in the error log is the way the file name is printed! Maybe this is the key for the problem?
MartinC
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:09 pm

Re: Jump to line with error

Post by MartinC »

It works with me. It could be because of the way you call latex. I use the command line -interaction=nonstopmode "%Wm".
Hedron
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:52 pm

Jump to line with error

Post by Hedron »

It works with me. It could be because of the way you call latex. I use the command line -interaction=nonstopmode "%Wm".
Ok, thats it! I had "%pm" instead of "%Wm" and after changing it works fine!
Thank you!
edit: "%wm" works as well.
marianatasaf2
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:56 pm

Re: Jump to line with error

Post by marianatasaf2 »

it doesn'n work if the path of the tex file has a folder with a space in its name. I had the same problem and that solve it for me.
dandus
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: Jump to line with error

Post by dandus »

I had the same problem, but then i solved it. Going by trial and error, I realized that this feature doesn't work if the file name contains any dots (.) or whitespaces ( ). Underscores (_) seem fine though.

E.g., it didn't work naming the file "a.test" or "a test", but it did work if i called it "a_test".

Personally, I prefer to press F9 rather than move my hand all the way to the mouse, click on the right spot and then back to the keyboard.

I'm so glad i have this feature back, I am going to save so much time!
marianatasaf2
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:56 pm

Re: Jump to line with error

Post by marianatasaf2 »

@dandus Glad I could help!
Post Reply